Russia announces sanctions against Western energy companies over Ukraine -by Ecork

Ukraine War: Sanctions will ban Western Russian ships from entering Russian ports amid the war.


On Wednesday, a government decree reported that Russia imposed sanctions on more than 30 energy companies in the European Union, the United States and Singapore in a retaliatory move after Western sanctions on Ukraine.

The Russian government’s list targets 31 companies, most of which belong to the Gazprom Germania group of Russian energy giant Gazprom.

Germany said in April it controlled a subsidiary of Germany’s Gazprom.

The sanctions also affect the Polish company EuRoPol GAZ SA, which owns the Polish part of the Yamal-Europe gas pipeline.

The sanctions include a ban on transactions and entry into Russian ports for ships linked to the affected companies.

The German Ministry of Economy and Climate Protection said on Wednesday that the government was “making the necessary arrangements and preparing for different scenarios”.

“The gas crisis team is closely monitoring the situation,” the ministry added.

“Currently, the security of supply is guaranteed, and it is constantly monitored.”

Western sanctions against Moscow, unprecedented in their scope and speed, ranged from asset freezes to export bans on strategic products such as semiconductors and financial sanctions.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by the NDTV crew and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button