PSL 2022: Mohammad Hafeez powers Lahore Qalandars past Multan Sultans to maiden title with all-round show | Cricket News

Lahore Qalandars overcame injury and frustration that spanned six seasons of the Pakistani Super League by holding the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 trophy in front of a crowd of 27,000 spectators at Lahore (home) stadium at Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday (February 27th). ) at night as Multan Sultans. ‘dream has become the first team to defend the PSL title successfully shattered with a 42-run defeat. Qalandars – who lost the final in HBL PSL 5, finished last in the first four and fifth seasons in HBL PSL 6 but chose the perfect setting to not only lift the competition but also to the tune of Rs 80 million while providing incredible joy and memories of life to their fans in their own backyard.

The second start, the Sultans were not yet hunted in their 181 pursuits as soon as their open relationship was broken up by Mohammad Rizwan (14) and Shan Masood (19). Mohammad Hafeez (the player) who scored the best innings with the bat of the season in the most important final contributed to a talk with the ball by Bolini Rizwan before Fakhar Zaman posted some controversy in the field to finish Shan after the opening was interrupted in the middle of the post following a disagreement with his colleague Aamer Azmat.

Fakhar, a few moments later, took a good tumbling catch to complete the Aamer innings (6). Sultans kept losing wickets at regular intervals against some high octane Qalandars bowling. The departure of Tim David for 27 other catastrophic catches by Fakhar on the first ball of 17th on bowled by Qalandars talismanic leader Shaheen Shah Afridi ended the game for the Sultans with Shaheen bowling David Willey (0) on the fourth ball of the same over with an unplayable yorker.

Haris Rauf (32) removed Khushdil (32) from the post while Shaheen hit Ruman Raees (6), leaving Imran Tahir (10) in the final for David Weise causing celebrations at the Qalandars dugout and the entire stadium.

Meanwhile, Qalandar’s victory means that all six HBL PSL voters have won the competition at least once, Islamabad United being the only team to win two titles (2016 and 2018). Previously, Qalandars’ unstoppable behavior was ahead for the umpteenth time in PSL 2022 as after the start of a disaster (chosen to bathe in the jungle), the home team sent the crowd into a state of ecstasy with a surprising end to them. innings like 77 runs added off the last 30 balls.

Asif Afridi for the Sultans had a nice start to the end with a double wicket while Willey picked up a wicket to throw away the full crowd. Qalandars was released rolling at 25/3 at 4.2 overs. Asif removes Fakhar (3) – executive director of HBL PSL 2022 (588 running) and Abdullah Shafique (14).

Willey scored for Zeeshan Ashraf (7) in the Eleven Qalandars for the final. Veteran Qalandars Hafeez revived the innings in the 54-run fourth-wicket Alliance with Kamran Ghulam (15).

Hafeez increased the scoring rate with a series of boundaries and chose the perfect time to post the first fifty of that time. The right-hander was damaged for 69 kills 46 (nine four and one six). Hafeez’s departure with 16 remaining balls did not help the Sultans much as Eliminator 2 player-of-the-match Wiese showed his perfect batting contribution on Friday (28 kills eight, one four, six six).

Harry Brook was another star player as the young Englishman sizzled with 41 unbeaten kills 22 (four, six six). Brook and Wiese added 43 off 16, Brook has already added 58 off 33 with Hafeez.

Short cuts: Lahore Qalandars 180/5 (Mohammad Hafeez 69, Harry Brook 41 published; Asif Afridi 3/19) bt Multan Sultans 138 at 19.3 ovs (Khushdil Shah 32, Tim David 27; Shaheen Shah Afridi 3/30)

(with INI entries)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button