IPL 2022: MS Dhoni’s CSK and Virat Kohli’s RCB in THIS group as T20 league kicks off on March 26 | Cricket News

The governing body of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Friday (February 25) announced both teams and the division of matches for the upcoming IPL 2022. The IPL GC also ends March 26 as the starting date for the 15th edition of the IPL.

The competition will start from the 26th of March and the finals will take place on the 29th of May. “A total of 70 League matches will be played across four venues in Mumbai and Pune. The venue for the tournament will be decided later, ”BCCI Secretary General Jay Shah said in a statement.

The 10 teams will play a total of 14 league games (7 home games and 7 away matches) for a total of 70 league games, followed by four finals. Each team will play 5 teams twice and the remaining 4 teams at once (only 2 at home and only 2 away).

“To decide on the above, the teams have been selected in two virtual teams based on the number of IPL Championships won by the number of finals played by the respective teams,” the release read. .

The two teams are: Group A – Mumbai India (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Delhi Capitals (DC) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Group B – Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Gujarati Titans.

This means MS Dhoni’s CSK and RCB featuring former skipper Virat Kohli are together in Group B. It also means that CSK vs RCB will take place twice this season. “Each team will play twice with the teams in their team and with the team in the same line in the other team. With the remaining teams on the other side they will only play once during the season, ”the release read.

(more to come)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button