India vs SL 2022: Rohit Sharma creates THIS world record, even MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli couldn’t achieve the feat | Cricket News

India team leader Rohit Sharma on Saturday (February 26) added a few more points in his previous cap as he became the most successful T20I captain in the field after India defeated Sri Lanka by seven wickets in The second T20I is Dharamshala.

Chasing 184, the Indian team won over explosive attacks from Shreyas Iyer (74 not 44), Ravindra Jadeja (45 not out of 18), and Sanju Samson (39 killed 25) to cross the finish line with 2.5 overs to spare and seven wickets in hand.

With this victory, India not only sealed a three-match series but also extended their victory in the T20I Cricket To 11 matches, a streak that started at last year’s T20 World Cup.

T20I 11th consecutive victory over India:

  • 66 runs vs Afghanistan
  • 8 wickets vs Scotland
  • 9 wickets vs Namibia
  • 5 wickets vs New Zealand
  • 7 wickets vs New Zealand
  • 73 runs vs New Zealand
  • 6 wickets vs West Indies
  • 8 runs vs West Indies
  • 17 runs vs West Indies
  • 62 runs vs Sri Lanka
  • 7 wickets vs Sri Lanka

Meanwhile, the victory also saw Rohit create a world record as he led India to 16 wins in 17 T20I tournaments at home, thus becoming the most successful captain in the home field in the short run. Indian leaders beat Eoin Morgan of England and Kane Williamson of New Zealand to achieve the role.

Among Indian leaders, Rohit has registered three more T20I victories than Virat Kohli and five more than MS Dhoni, at home.

In fact, it was the third consecutive victory for Rohit since he became the full-time leader of the T20 format back in November 2021. ‘Hitman’ had already led India to a 3-0 victory against New Zealand, a 3-0 victory. 0 against West Indies after winning reins.

In total, Rohit has 23 wins in 25 matches as a T20I leader in his career and under his leadership, the Indian team also won No.1 spot in the T20I rankings after a 3-0 win over the West Indies.

It is worth mentioning that Rohit overtook New Zealand batter Martin Guptill and former Indian skipper Kohli to become the race leader at Twenty20 Internationals during the first T20I trip to Sri Lanka on Thursday.

Meanwhile, if India manage to lift Sri Lanka 3-0 in the T20 series, then they will get the total record of the most consecutive T20 winners. Afghanistan currently holds the record for most consecutive wins with 12 and the Men in Blue is the winning away.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button