India vs SL 1st Test: Ravichandran Ashwin close to breaking THIS massive record of Kapil Dev | Cricket News

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is on the verge of becoming the country’s second-largest wicket supplier in Test Cricket. After 88 Tests, Ashwin’s tally stood at 430 wickets – just four short of the legendary Kapil Dev’s mark, who had 434 in 131 Tests.

If Ashwin qualifies for the XI match for the first Test against Sri Lanka which starts at Mohali on Friday (March 4), the Tamil Nadu and Rajasthan Royals could easily overcome that mark. Anil Kumble is the leading wicket-taker for India in Tests with 619 wickets in 132 Tests.

Given Ashwin’s civilization in Indian conditions, it would be strange if he could not win more than four wickets. Ashwin could also hit the likes of Sir Richard Hadlee (431), Rangana Herath (433), Dale Steyn (439) alongside Kapil Dev during the two-test series against Sri Lanka.

The off-spinner will also be able to beat Indian cricketer Harbhajan Singh for most wickets against Sri Lanka in the Test. Both at 50, Ashwin needed a wicket to the edge of Harbhajan.

“Ashwin is preparing well. No complaints. He was good and did everything in training today. Batted, bowled and done fielding. Hopefully, there is no case, ”Jasprit Bumrah told reporters in a live interview ahead of the Test vs Sri Lanka series.

Of those 430 wickets, 300 were home tests for Ashwin from 49 games with an amazing average of 21.4 while 130 were placed in 35 tests. Meanwhile against Sri Lanka, in 9 Tests to date, Ashwin has managed to claim 50 wickets at an average of 23.58.

Indian Test Team against Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Priyank Panchal, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubhman Gill, Rishabh Pant (wicket keeper), KS Bharat, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, R. Ashwin (subject to fitness elimination) , Kuldeep Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (vice president)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button