IND vs SL: Dimuth Karunaratne to lead 18-man squad for Tests against India | Cricket News

Dharamsala: The 18-member Sri Lankan Test Team, led by batter star Dimuth Karunaratne and featuring veterans such as Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne and Dinesh Chandimal, check in here on Friday for a two-game series against India starting in March Third Day 4 at Mohali.

However, senior batter Kusal Mendis and spinner Maheesh Theekshana have been ruled out of the last two T20 Internationals with the latter returning home due to a hamstring injury.

Kusal is, however, going to stay behind as part of the Test team and will incorporate the subject into fitness.

Niroshan Dickwella, who recently came out of suspension for a bio-bubble ban in England last year, has launched into the T20 team with Dananjaya de Silva, both, also part of the Test team.

The 18-member team approved by Sri Lankan Minister of Youth and Sports Namal Rajapaksa, who is the son of the late Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, also includes chairman-general Ramesh Mendis.

Surprisingly, the SLC said Mendis would not play due to injury, but did not say why his name was part of the team despite his attendance.

He also said that spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, who was stranded in Australia after a positive test for COVID-19, “will return home”.

The group:

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain), Kusal Mendis (subject to fitness), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Charith Asalanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis (no is accepted). part due to injury), Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lasith Embuldeniya.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button