Top Stories

“All clocks will start on time”: Virender Sehwag On Umpiring In India-Australia Hockey Women’s CWG Semi-Final -by Ecork

India ended with a loss to Australia in the women’s hockey semi-finals in the ongoing Commonwealth Games. However, the penalty shootout has now become a big issue after the umpires called for Australia’s first shot to be retaken due to a timing error. It is important to note that Ambrosia Malone missed the penalty, but the match officials called for the shot to be retaken, and Ambrosia did not fail to convert his strike this time around.

Former India batsman Virender Sehwag has reacted strongly to the call by the officials, saying such cynicism used to happen in cricket even until they became superpowers.

Penalty miss hua Australia did and Umpire said, Sorry Clock started nahi hua. The kind of injustice that happens in cricket is the same in the past when we become superpowers, Hockey mein bhi hum jald banenge and all the clocks will start on time. girls,” Sehwag tweeted.

Australia eventually beat India 3-0 in a shootout to book their place in the finals, and they will square off against England in the gold medal match. On the other hand, India will play New Zealand in the bronze medal match.

Former Indian hockey captain Viren Rasquinha also reacted strongly to the incident, tweeting: “The @FIH_Hockey really need to get their act together. Times are the basics. This is not an Under 10 school competition. It is the second time in a year that major competitions have happened

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) on Saturday also apologized for the timing controversy that occurred during the Indian women’s team’s semi-final loss to Australia at the Commonwealth Games, saying it would “thoroughly investigate” the incident. Australia’s Rosie Malone, who missed her first attempt during the match, was given another chance because the second countdown on the scoreboard had not started.

“In the semi-final match of the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games between Australia and India (Women), the penalty shootout started erroneously early (the clock was not ready to run), for which we apologize,” FIH said in a statement. .

Promotion

“The procedure in place for such situations is that the penalty is to be reinstated, which it did. This incident will be thoroughly reviewed by the FIH in order to avoid any such issues in the future,” the statement added. .

(With PTI inputs)

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button