1047 panchayats to go to polls in third phase of Jharkhand rural elections -by Ecork

More than 46.94 lakh voters are entitled to self-determination for 27,343 candidates. (representative)


Election officials on Monday said a total of 1,047 panchayats covering 70 blocks in 19 districts of Jharkhand state will go to the polls in the third phase of the four-stage panchayat polls on Tuesday.

More than 46.94 voters, including 22.86 lakh women, are entitled to political self-determination for 27,343 candidates.

Panchayat elections in Jharkhand are not held on partisan lines.

In the third phase, elections were to be held for 15,376 posts – 12,911 members of the panchayats, 1,047 of the mukhais, 1,290 of the representatives of the panchayat committee, and 128 members of the zila parishads.

However, officials have already announced the winners of 5,950 candidates without opposition in the third stage.

“All preparations for the third phase have been completed. The polling will start at 7 am and will continue until 3 pm. The parties have been sent to their respective sites,” said Radhi Shyam Prasad, Secretary of the Government Election Commission.

A total of 12,912 polling booths have been set up for the third stage. Among them, 6,021 are sensitive and 3,804 are hypersensitive.

Appropriate security arrangements have been made for both voters and polling officials. The Secretary of the Supreme Education Council stated that a large number of security personnel were deployed at all polling stations to conduct peaceful voting.

The final stage of the elections will be held on May 27.

In Ranchi, the District Elections Officer (DEO) and Deputy Commissioner of Ranchi Chavi Ranjan on Monday directed the District Judges and Police Officers engaged in election duty to properly follow the Commission’s guidelines.

Four blocks in the state capital – Ormanji, Angara, Namkom and Sili – will go to the polls in the third phase. Ranjan appealed to the voters to cast their votes without any fear or hesitation.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by the NDTV crew and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button